The best AI book generator in 2026: 8 tools compared for nonfiction
Most AI book generators are built for authors publishing a catalog, and priced as a monthly subscription to match. A few charge once per book. One of those writes nonfiction only and sells the rights to publish it under your name. This page compares eight of them, plus ChatGPT as the do-it-yourself route, on what they cost, whether the book is written for a defined reader, what files you get, and where each one fits. Written by TailoredRead, which is one of the eight, so read the method section and judge for yourself.
Last checked: September 9, 2026. Every product price and feature claim below was read from an official source on that date. The pages are listed under Sources at the end. Where a site did not state something, the table says "not stated".
The short answer
There is no single best AI book generator. Two questions sort the field: is the book fiction or nonfiction, and do you want one book or a catalog. Google's own answer box splits the category the same way.
- You want one nonfiction book to publish under your own name, paid once. TailoredRead's Author license is $49.99 per book and delivers Word, EPUB, PDF, and Markdown with the rights to edit, publish, and sell, no royalties owed. The outline is free before you pay. Qyx AI Book Creator charges $49 per book on its no-subscription plan and delivers Markdown-formatted text. How the TailoredRead AI book generator works for authors.
- You want to publish and sell several books a year. A subscription built for output may cost less than paying per book. BookBud.ai offers distribution to Amazon, Apple, Kobo, and other retailers through selfpublishing.pro. Inkfluence AI starts at $9.99 a month, bundles audiobook and cover tools, and publishes to Etsy and Gumroad.
- You want a long book in your own voice from your own material. Youbooks ingests your documents and can train a Human Model on your writing samples. Its site says generation takes days rather than minutes, and its credit cost depends mostly on word count.
- You want a full author platform. MovableType.ai advertises a proposal, manuscript, marketing plan, audiobook, and export for Kindle Direct Publishing. Its current offer starts at $199 a month.
- You want fiction. TailoredRead does not write it. BookBud.ai and Qyx handle fiction. Tools built for novels, such as Squibler, Sudowrite, and Novelcrafter, are outside this comparison.
- You want a book to read yourself, about your topic, at your level. TailoredRead and Pooks.ai are the two tools whose sites describe books written for an individual reader. Both charge once per book. Consider Pooks.ai if you want an audiobook or one of its ten languages and your topic fits its categories. Consider TailoredRead for any nonfiction topic, a chosen length, and a book generated in about 10 minutes.
- You want to start without paying. ChatGPT has a free plan, but it does not provide the book-specific workflow compared on this page. Inkfluence AI gives free users 5 chapters plus 5 more each month. BookBud.ai provides 25,000 free credits for an outline, cover, and early chapters. TailoredRead shows the full table of contents free and charges only for the manuscript.
Comparison table
Prices are as shown on each site on September 9, 2026, in the currency the site uses. Monthly plans are shown at the monthly rate. Each tool has its own section below with the detail behind these values, and with who it suits.
| Tool | Pricing | Written for the reader? | Files | Audiobook | Languages | Time |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| One book, priced per book | ||||||
| TailoredRead | One-time per book: $2-$35 to read, $39.99 to edit and share, $49.99 to publish and sell | Yes, per reader | Reader, EPUB, PDF; Word and Markdown on paid tiers | No | English | About 10 minutes |
| Pooks.ai | One-time: $10 ebook, $20 with audiobook; seen at $19 and $39 in pricing tests | Yes, per reader | PDF, EPUB, M4B, MP3 | Yes | 10 | 15-30 minutes |
| Qyx AI Book Creator | $49 a book, no subscription; plans $39 to $149 a month | Brief, not per reader | Markdown TXT; EPUB examples shown | Separate, $49-$69 | Major, no count stated | Minutes to hours |
| A catalog of books, priced monthly | ||||||
| Inkfluence AI | Free tier; $9.99 or $19.99 a month; credit packs from $9.99 | Audience, not per reader | PDF; EPUB and DOCX on paid; MP3 | Yes | 30+, 59 translated | 3-5 minutes |
| BookBud.ai | Free credits; $19 one-time pack; $19, $49, or $99 a month | Audience, not per reader | EPUB, PDF, DOCX | Via AuthorVoices.ai | 45+ | 10-30 minutes |
| Youbooks | Euros 9.97, 24.97, or 199.97 a month, plus credits | Audience, not per reader | DOCX, EPUB, Markdown, RTF | Not stated | Not stated | Days |
| MovableType.ai | $199 a month, $549 a quarter, or $1,999 a year | Audience, not per reader | Google Docs and KDP export; files not named | Yes | 50+ | Under 15 minutes |
| EbookMaker (moving to Ebook GPT) | $19.90 to $59.90 a month in credits; new work moved to Ebook GPT | Not stated | PDF, EPUB, flipbook, audiobook | Yes | 63 | Not stated |
| Do it yourself | ||||||
| ChatGPT (do it yourself) | Free; Go $8, Plus $20, Pro $200 a month | Not checked | Not checked | Not checked | Not checked | Not checked |
What an author gets from TailoredRead
This is the case for TailoredRead, made by TailoredRead, on facts you can check on the linked pages. The section after the method covers the cases where another tool is the better buy.
- One payment, not a subscription. The Author license is $49.99 for one book, paid once. The subscription tools in the table run from $9.99 to $199 a month, which is the right model for a catalog and the wrong one for a single book. If you never come back, nothing renews.
- The rights to publish and sell it. The Author license covers editing, publishing, and selling the book under your name, with no royalties and no attribution required. TailoredRead assigns its rights in the book to you on completion; the terms of service state exactly what is assigned.
- The outline before the money. The title, description, and full table of contents are generated free. You pay only if you want the manuscript written, and you see the exact price before you decide.
- A real Word file. Every heading uses a heading style, so the document behaves in Word or Google Docs: reorder chapters, replace the byline with your name, add your own stories and data. EPUB, PDF, and Markdown come with it.
- Written for a defined reader. You describe who the book is for, their level, and their goals, and the manuscript is planned around that reader rather than around a genre prompt. That is what makes it read like a book for someone instead of a book about something.
- Every book cites its sources. Claims carry numbered footnotes in the text, collected in a Notes section at the back, on every book. Fast-moving or niche subjects are also researched before a word is written, so the book is grounded in current sources rather than in what the model happens to remember.
- Charts, tables, and diagrams in every book. Instead of explaining everything in paragraphs, the book shows ideas with bar charts, tables, timelines, checklists, decision trees, pyramids, and highlighted tips and warnings. Each chapter gets the ones that fit it, and they carry through to the Word file as real tables and lists you can edit.
- An editorial pass on every book. After writing, TailoredRead's AI reviews the whole manuscript the way an editor would: claims are checked for accuracy, and chapters are polished and rewritten where needed, so what reaches you reads clear and consistent from the first page to the last. Nonfiction only, in English, on purpose.
- Over 5,000 books created since 2024. Thousands of them are public, so you can open any one and read a sample before you pay for anything: browse the library.
Start with the page built for this use: the AI book generator for nonfiction authors.
How we compared them
We read each product's own homepage, pricing page, help pages, or FAQ on September 9, 2026 and recorded what those pages say. We also checked Amazon's own Kindle Direct Publishing policy for its AI disclosure rule. We did not buy a book from each tool, so this page compares published product claims and prices. It does not compare the quality of the books they produce.
One limit worth naming: some of these products run pricing tests, so the price a visitor is shown is not always the price their own pages state. Pooks.ai says as much on its site, and we have seen its cards at two different sets of prices. Where that is known, the row says so. Everywhere else, the figure here is what the product published on the check date, and the price at checkout is the one that counts.
The comparison focuses on products that advertise a complete book-generation workflow. General writing assistants are outside the main group. ChatGPT appears only as a do-it-yourself alternative because it is a common way to draft text, not because OpenAI advertises it as a book product.
TailoredRead wrote this page and sells one of the tools in it. To keep that honest, TailoredRead is held to the same columns as everyone else, its gaps are listed in its own section, and there is a section on when it is not the right pick.
Each tool in detail
TailoredRead
TailoredRead writes a complete nonfiction book for one reader. You enter the subject, describe the reader's background and proficiency, add goals and topics, and choose a length from 30 to 300 pages. The title, description, and full table of contents are generated free before you pay. The book is ready to read online in about 10 minutes and downloads as EPUB and PDF. Pricing is one-time per book: $2-$35 on the Personal license depending on length, $39.99 for the Commercial license (Word and Markdown downloads, remove attribution, distribute for free), and $49.99 for the Author license (license rights to edit, publish, and sell, with no royalties owed to TailoredRead).
Consider it when you want one nonfiction manuscript to edit in Word and publish under your name, paid once, or a book matched to what you already know that you will read rather than publish. Over 5,000 books have been created with it since 2024, and thousands of them are public, with a sample of each open to read. The author workflow is described on the AI book generator page.
Gaps: no audiobook, English only, no photographs or drawn illustrations beyond the cover, and no in-app editor. Editing happens in Word on the downloaded file and requires a Commercial or Author license. The delivered files carry the TailoredRead byline, which Commercial and Author buyers may remove from a modified version. TailoredRead does not publish, print, or distribute books.
Pooks.ai
Pooks.ai sells "personalized non-fiction books for adults", for yourself or as a gift. You pick a topic from its categories and answer guided questions about your goals, experience, challenges, and learning style. The site says a typical book is about 150 pages, 10 chapters, and 20,000 to 25,000 words, delivered as PDF and EPUB in 15 to 30 minutes, with an AI-narrated audiobook in M4B and MP3 as a bundle. Pricing on the check date: a free sample with a table of contents, introduction, first chapter, and audio preview, $10 one time for the ebook, or $20 one time for the ebook plus audiobook, both figures stated in its own FAQ. Pooks runs pricing tests and says so on its site, and its pricing cards have also been seen at $19 and $39, so treat the price you are shown at checkout as the real one rather than any figure on this page. Ten languages. A seven-day refund guarantee is stated in the FAQ.
Consider it when you want an audiobook, a language other than English, or a gift flow that emails the finished book to the recipient.
Inkfluence AI
Inkfluence AI is an ebook creation platform for creators who sell or give away books: "Turn one idea into a finished book." You describe the book in a sentence or import existing drafts and notes, and it drafts chapter by chapter with a built-in editor, a cover designer, and audiobook narration in 49 voices. Pricing on the check date: a free plan with 5 chapters plus 5 a month (PDF only), Creator at $9.99 a month or $89 a year (35 chapters a month, EPUB and DOCX export, Etsy and Gumroad publishing), Premium at $19.99 a month or $179 a year (unlimited chapters, 30 audiobook chapters a month). One-time chapter credit packs cost $9.99, $12.99, or $24.99 and do not expire. The site says most ebooks finish in 3 to 5 minutes. Subscriptions are stated as non-refundable once used. Generation is advertised in 30+ languages, with translation into 59 languages.
Consider it for sellable ebooks and lead magnets in volume, with editing, cover design, audiobook generation, and store publishing in one product. Its pages describe tailoring content to a target audience, but do not describe an individual-reader workflow like TailoredRead or Pooks.ai.
BookBud.ai
BookBud.ai is a self-publishing workflow: idea, outline, draft, cover, and export, with optional one-click distribution to Amazon, Apple, Kobo, and others. It handles fiction and nonfiction. Pricing on the check date: a free tier with 25,000 credits and no card (enough for an outline, a cover, and a few chapters), Starter at $19 a month or $190 a year for up to 3 books a month, Publisher Basic at $49 a month or $490 a year for up to 15, Pro at $99 a month or $990 a year for up to 50. Its "Finish Your Book" offer adds 400,000 non-expiring credits for a one-time $19 payment. Exports EPUB, PDF, and DOCX. Book sizes run about 16,500, 33,000, or 66,000 words. A standard book takes 10 to 30 minutes. Audiobooks are made through a sister service, AuthorVoices.ai. 45+ languages.
Consider it when you plan to publish a catalog and want retailer distribution connected to the writing tool. Its FAQ notes that Amazon requires an AI-content disclosure that BookBud does not handle for you.
Qyx AI Book Creator
Qyx AI Book Creator positions itself as "your AI ghostwriter". You submit a title, an optional subtitle, a category, and a detailed description. It proposes a table of contents and opening you can edit before approving, then writes a 30,000 to 80,000 word manuscript in minutes to a few hours. Delivery is a plain-text file with Markdown formatting, and the site provides EPUB examples. Pricing on the check date, all in US dollars: $49 per book on the no-subscription plan, or monthly plans at $39, $79, and $149 that include one, two, or four books and lower the per-book price to $39 or $29. Audiobooks are a separate product at $49 to $69 each. The site says books can be generated in major languages but does not state a count.
Consider it for a long manuscript you will format yourself, paid once, with the option to review the outline and opening before the rest is written.
Youbooks
Youbooks is built for authors with existing material: "Draft up to 300K words from your own sources with a Human-trained voice." You upload documents, supply 20,000 to 200,000 words of your own writing to train a voice model on the Pro plan and above, and set a target length. It describes itself as slow on purpose: a first draft in hours and a book in days. Pricing on the check date, in euros: Fan at 9.97 a month, Pro at 24.97, Enterprise at 199.97, each with a monthly credit allowance, plus a 9,000-credit flat fee per project and about 1.1 words per credit. One-time top-ups start at 5 euros for 50,000 credits. Exports DOCX, EPUB, Markdown, and RTF. Its homepage and help center do not state an audiobook feature or list the supported writing languages.
Consider it when you already have source material and a writing voice to preserve, and you are willing to wait days for the workflow described on its site.
MovableType.ai
MovableType.ai calls itself "the all in one AI book generation platform". Its site advertises a book proposal, a first draft of 35,000 or more words in under 15 minutes, an audiobook in under 30 minutes, and a marketing plan, with an author persona, Google Docs integration, and export for Kindle Direct Publishing. Pricing on the check date: $199 a month for 10 credits, $549 a quarter for 30 plus 10 bonus, or $1,999 a year for 120 plus 25 bonus. One credit is one book and five credits is an audiobook. The pricing page labeled these amounts "today only special pricing" against higher regular prices, so verify the offer before paying. The site advertises translation and generation in more than 50 languages. Specific file formats such as PDF or DOCX are not named on the pages reviewed.
Consider it when you want the author workflow advertised on its site, including the proposal and marketing material, and you will publish enough books to justify $199 a month.
EbookMaker, now moving to Ebook GPT
EbookMaker is in transition. On the check date its homepage said that "new creations here have ended" and pointed to a successor, Ebook GPT, described as free to start, which writes, illustrates, and formats ebooks in children's, recipe, manga, fiction, or informative styles and exports PDF, Kindle, or audiobook. Its plans page still listed credit subscriptions at $19.90, $29.90, and $59.90 a month for 10, 20, or 50 credits, where one credit makes a book of up to 6 chapters and three credits a book of 13 to 18 chapters, with PDF, EPUB, and flipbook downloads and creation in 63 languages. Whether those plans can still be bought was not clear from the site.
For a new project, follow the homepage notice to Ebook GPT and verify the successor's current terms before paying. The old EbookMaker plans page should not be treated as a current recommendation.
ChatGPT, if you do it yourself
ChatGPT is a general assistant rather than a book product, and many people try it first. OpenAI's official pages on the check date listed Free at $0, Go at $8 a month in the US, Plus at $20 a month, and Pro at $200 a month. Those pages do not describe a book workflow, book export, or book-specific language support, so the table marks those "not checked" rather than guessing. It is here because it is the free option people weigh against paying for a tool, not because we tested it against the others.
Consider it when you want to start without paying and are willing to direct the writing, review the output, and assemble the book yourself.
When TailoredRead is not the right pick
- You want an audiobook. TailoredRead does not make one. Pooks.ai, Inkfluence AI, and MovableType.ai advertise audiobook generation. BookBud.ai and Qyx connect to separately priced audiobook products.
- You need a language other than English. TailoredRead is English only. Pooks.ai lists 10 languages, Inkfluence AI advertises 30+ for generation, BookBud.ai lists 45+, and MovableType.ai advertises 50+ for translation and generation.
- You have a manuscript, transcripts, or notes to build from. TailoredRead writes from a subject and a reader description, not from uploaded files. Youbooks and Inkfluence AI accept source files. BookBud.ai lets you supply an outline and paste your own text into sections, but its FAQ says another service handles uploading a partial manuscript for AI to finish.
- You want the book in your own voice. TailoredRead does not learn a style from writing samples. Youbooks and MovableType.ai offer voice training.
- You publish many books a year. Paying per book stops being cheap. Depending on book length and volume, a BookBud.ai or Inkfluence AI subscription can cost less and adds publishing or distribution features.
- You want to edit inside the tool. TailoredRead has no in-app editor. You download the Word file and edit there. Inkfluence AI, BookBud.ai, and EbookMaker have built-in editors.
- You want fiction. TailoredRead is nonfiction only. BookBud.ai and Qyx handle fiction.
- You want illustrations. TailoredRead adds only an AI-generated cover. Inkfluence AI and BookBud.ai advertise images inside the book.
Questions people ask
What is the best AI book generator?
It depends on whether the book is fiction or nonfiction, and whether you want one book or a catalog. For one nonfiction book to publish under your own name, compare TailoredRead's Author license at $49.99 per book with Qyx at $49 per book; both are paid once. For books you will publish and sell in volume, consider a subscription tool such as BookBud.ai or Inkfluence AI. For a manuscript in your own voice from your own sources, consider Youbooks. For a book to read yourself, TailoredRead and Pooks.ai are the two tools that describe books written for an individual reader.
Which AI book generators charge once instead of monthly?
TailoredRead (per book, from $2-$35), Pooks.ai ($10 or $20 per book as stated, though it runs pricing tests and has also shown $19 and $39), and Qyx AI Book Creator ($49 per book on its no-subscription plan). Inkfluence AI also sells one-time credit packs from $9.99, BookBud.ai has a $19 one-time pack for users finishing a book, and Youbooks sells one-time top-ups from 5 euros. Their main paid offers are subscriptions.
Which tools personalize the book to the reader?
TailoredRead and Pooks.ai are the two tools whose sites explicitly describe a book written for an individual reader. TailoredRead asks for the reader's background, proficiency, goals, and topics. Pooks.ai asks about goals, experience, and learning style. Several other tools let an author define a target audience, which is a different workflow.
Can I get an audiobook?
Pooks.ai, Inkfluence AI, and MovableType.ai advertise audiobook generation. BookBud.ai hands off to a sister service, and Qyx sells audiobooks as a separate product. TailoredRead does not make audiobooks. Youbooks does not state an audiobook feature on the pages reviewed. EbookMaker's legacy plans page lists audiobooks, but its homepage directs new creation to Ebook GPT.
Can I use ChatGPT instead?
Many people do. OpenAI publishes plan prices, but its pricing page does not describe a book workflow or book export, so this page makes no claim about how well that works. The difference is the product workflow: TailoredRead plans and generates one complete, formatted book for a one-time price per book. Read OpenAI's own terms and review its output before publishing it.
Are AI-generated books allowed on Amazon KDP?
Amazon requires publishers to disclose AI-generated text, images, or translations during Kindle Direct Publishing submission. Amazon does not require disclosure of AI-assisted content. BookBud.ai says its distribution does not make the disclosure for you. Check Amazon's current policy before publishing through any tool. TailoredRead does not publish on your behalf.
How current is this page?
Every product price and feature claim was read from an official source on September 9, 2026. Prices and features in this category change often, so check the tool's site before buying. The page is refreshed at least once a year.
Sources and updates
Updated September 9, 2026. Every product price and feature claim on this page was read from the official pages below on that date. Facts a site did not state are marked "not stated" in the table rather than filled in from elsewhere. Published feature claims were not independently tested by buying a book from each product.
- TailoredRead: tailoredread.com/info/help
- Pooks.ai: pooks.ai/, pooks.ai/faq
- Inkfluence AI: www.inkfluenceai.com/, www.inkfluenceai.com/pricing, www.inkfluenceai.com/features, www.inkfluenceai.com/ai-ebook-generator, www.inkfluenceai.com/ai-book-creator, www.inkfluenceai.com/what-is-inkfluence-ai
- BookBud.ai: bookbud.ai/, bookbud.ai/pricing, bookbud.ai/faq, bookbud.ai/ai-ebook-writer, bookbud.ai/ai-book-writer
- Amazon KDP policy: kdp.amazon.com/en_US/help/topic/G200672390
- Qyx AI Book Creator: qyxai.com/home/, qyxai.com/home/audiobooks, qyxai.com/home/about, qyxai.com/blog/self-publishing-your-book/
- Youbooks: www.youbooks.com/, www.youbooks.com/help/sources/formats-and-limits, www.youbooks.com/help/exports/downloads-and-formats
- MovableType.ai: movabletype.ai/, movabletype.ai/join/, www.movabletype.ai/core-features/audiobooks
- EbookMaker: ebookmaker.ai/, ebookmaker.ai/en-US/plans
- ChatGPT: openai.com/chatgpt/pricing/, openai.com/index/introducing-chatgpt-go/, openai.com/policies/terms-of-use/
If you run one of these products and something here is out of date, let us know with the page that shows the current fact and we will correct it.
Write your nonfiction book
Describe the subject and the reader, preview the full table of contents free, and pay once only if the plan looks right. The manuscript is ready in about 10 minutes, as a Word file you can put your name on.